Johnny Walker Red

It’s actually been a while since I had my first taste of Johnny Walker’s red scotch. At Outback Steakhouse, unfortunately, they do not have Amberbock as a beer of choice. Therefore, I decided to drink some liquor. Normally I reach for Crown and Coke or maybe even spiced Captain and coke. But this time, I wanted to try something new…

So, not knowing what to expect, I decided to order a Johnny Walker Red. I didn’t know how to drink it (i.e. on the rocks, splash of coke, splash of water, mixed, etc..). Furthermore, when I asked the server, he didn’t know either; rookie…However, I figured I couldn’t go wrong with a splash of coke, just in case it had a strong bite.

To my surprise, they came out as 2 for 1! The first sip was actually kind of startling. I’ve never tasted anything like it. Even though scotch is a kind of whiskey, that’s about where the comparisons end; at at least as far as my limited experimentation with liquor alcohol will allow my palate to distinguish.

The first sip came off bitter and earthly at first and finished earthly and sweet. The first half of the first glass went down kinda of rough. I had to get used to it. However, after that, it was smooth sailing. Maybe it tasted good-maybe it just numbed my palate; either way, I’d probably drink it again, although there’s probably better out there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

